I recently read Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make a Difference by Max Lucado. In Outlive Your Life Lucado looks at the early church as its story unfolds in the book of Acts and what we can learn from the first apostles in leaving a legacy that lasts beyond our life.  It’s a good, challenging book encouraging you to get beyond worldly pursuits and go after things that matter, things that will last beyond our time on earth. I appreciate how the book looks at different aspects of the early church as described in the book of Acts and pulls out relevant thoughts for our life today, in this modern culture.
I wished at times that Lucado would get a little more in your face. For example, in the chapter on community he looks at how we’re connected to believers throughout the world, which is good, but I wish he would have looked at deepening our levels of community within our neighborhood and even church contexts. Still, there is plenty of challenging thoughts in each chapter.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
