The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life by Joan Chittister is part of The Ancient Practices series put together by Phyllis Tickle. Chittister approaches her look at the importance of the liturgical year from a Catholic perspective from which she was raised and ministers, yet she shows the benefit of the wisdom of the liturgical calendar for people of all denominations. I do wish, however, that she would explain some of the more “Catholic” terminology and how it might relate to non-Catholics (vigils, feasts, fasts, etc.).

I appreciate the way Chittister looks at the cycles of the church year from historical perspectives (why do we celebrate Christmas when we do) as well as the spiritual tone of each celebration. She explains why each part of the church year is important for us to observe. The book also contains a helpful study guide. I look forward to reading more books from this series.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

