McKnight

Fasting by Scot McKnight is part of The Ancient Practices series put together by Phyllis Tickle. This is the first book I’ve read devoted entirely to fasting; I had only read a chapter here and there on fasting in various books on spiritual disciplines. McKnight’s approach is entirely different. He doesn’t look at fasting as a way to bring us closer to God or to benefit us, but as away we respond to situations in life. His book is centered around this premise: “Fasting is the natural, inevitable response of a person to a grievous sacred moment in life.”

I appreciated McKnight’s look at fasting and the different situations in which we can use fasting as a bodily and spiritual response. He gives a thorough, biblical (as well as historical) look at fasting–including how not to fast. I plan to use his insight to enhance my life with fasting as a response to grievous, sacred situations.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

