The Sacred Meal by Nora Gallagher is part of The Ancient Practices series put together by Phyllis Tickle. It admittedly seems like an odd inclusion to the series; most of the other books deal with practices that aren’t done commonly anymore. The Lord’s Supper seems fairly widely practiced since it is largely included as a sacrament (after all, there isn’t a book in this series on baptism). I think it was included, though, because all too often we take the act of eating the bread and wine for granted.

I don’t believe I’ve read a book entirely about communion (Eucharist, the  Lord’s Supper, etc.) before. I appreciated Gallagher’s look at Eucharist and how participating in the meal affects her daily life. She only lightly touches on some of the denominational differences in the practice of communion and barely touches on the sacred meal through history; I wish she would have touched on those areas a little more. But Gallagher’s look at communion is an attempt to unite us around the meal (not using it as a point of division) and remind us of its importance and transforming power in our lives as we literally take Jesus with us into our week ahead.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

