The Sacred Journey by Charles Foster is part of The Ancient Practices series put together by Phyllis Tickle. In it Foster looks at the spiritual benefit of going on a pilgrimage (while not clearly saying what a pilgrimage needs to look like). He contends that we’re meant to be wanderers–that God doesn’t intend for us to build cities. Whether that’s true or not, a journey toward something sacred usually produces change.

I enjoyed the book–mostly because I like the notion of traveling. I wish I could do more of it, and do it more purposefully. This book, for the most part, is more theoretical than practical. The author shares stories from his pilgrimages, from others he has met on the road and from journals of pilgrims.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

