Galileo by Mitch Stokes is the first biography I had read in a while. I enjoyed getting a chance to read about the life of someone I knew of but really knew little about. Too often I simply hear of Galileo’s excommunication from the church. And that wasn’t really the case; there’s a lot more to the story, and Galileo gives a nice, brief look at the life of the scientist, mathametician and philosopher.

We can always learn something from looking at another person’s life. And each person will undoubtedly learn something different about themselves as well. One of the things that is memorable from Galileo’s life is his quest for the truth (and the Truth) and his unwaivering pursuit of it. At times the chapters seemed to be a bit packed with facts, but it was a short enough read to give a nice overview of Galileo’s life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com;http://BookSneeze.com; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255;http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

