I admit that I read this book because J.R.R. Tolkien is one of my favorite authors and I wanted to know more about him. Mark Horne’s short biography was a good introduction to Tolkien’s life. Starting with Tolkien’s birth in South Africa and covering the death of both his parents, growing up as an orphan, his forbidden romance and his struggles to get into academia, Mark Horne shows how these formative events in Tolkien’s life shaped his writing.

Mark Horne also takes a chapter to look at how Tolkien’s writing has shaped the world. One of the most beloved writers of the past century, Tolkien’s fantasy worlds have been enjoyed by millions around the globe, and for good reason. Mark Horne explores how Tolkien’s perfectionism kept him writing and editing until he had developed a great story. This book is a a wonderful first look into Tolkien’s life, writing and faith.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

