The Voice is a new translation that is fresh as well as helpful in understanding the text. A variety of poets, story tellers, musicians and arts–as well as a strong list of biblical scholars–have contributed to the work to keep it honest yet poetical. Speaking sections are written as a script. A reading plan for getting through the New Testament in 24 weeks is included as well as plans for Lent/Easter and Advent.

With any Bible with commentaries (however brief they may be), the commentaries will always be slanted in some way. It is impossible to represent all sides to an issue or interpretation. Such is the case here.

I enjoyed the artistic approach, as well as the scholarly insight (background information was helpful for understanding the text). Not everyone will appreciate another Bible translation, but this is a nice one for anyone who appreciates the artistry (as well as truth) of the Bible. I admit that I haven’t completely read through The Voice, nor have I compared this translations to others for accuracy; my review is based solely on reading this translation as it is.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

