I am a fan of C.S. Lewis. I’ll confess that from the start. It was my motivation behind reading From the Library of C.S. Lewis: Selections from Writers Who Influenced His Spiritual Journey (compiled by James Stuart Bell and Anthony P. Dawson). The book contains short selections (I don’t believe any were over two pages long) of writings that Lewis read on his journey toward accepting Christ.

The book includes writings from G.K. Chesterton, John Donne, Martin Luther, George MacDonald, William Wordsworth, Julian of Norwich and many others. The snippets of their works provide an overview of what influenced Lewis. They provide the reader with a chance to look into the works and decide which ones they might further want to explore for their own curiosities, but not every selection will be of interest to every reader. The book is more like a nice buffet sampling to let you pick and choose.

I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Press in exchange for this review. My review was not influenced by the publishers in any way.

