Jackson is a biography in Stephen Mansfield’s series of books on “The Generals.” Author Paul Vickery looks at the life  of the man who would become the seventh President of the United States of America. He was the first president not to come from Massachusetts or Virginia, and the first to really be a “common man.”

The biography chronicles he life from growing up as an orphan to becoming president, but it focuses mainly on his military career. Jackson was a man of determination, unwilling to bend his principles. He was strong-willed and relentless, but respected by those under him.

I enjoyed learning about a president I knew little about. I was disappointed that his faith was almost a foot-note in the last chapter and hoped to learn more about what shaped him as a leader. The author acknowledges the controversy surrounding Jackson and his policies toward Native Americans, but seems almost apologetic at times.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

