Okay, it may be a novel for “young adults,” but I enjoyed reading Fortress of Mist. It is Sigmund Brouwer’s second book in his Merlin’s Immortals series. It may have been that I read it before bed and it’s short chapters (generally 3-4 pages) and moving action helped. Granted, it’s not an overly deep book if you’re looking for many layers of thought, but there is suspense and mystery as well as action.

I haven’t read the first book in the series, so I know there’s important back story that I’m missing, but it didn’t seem to matter. A lot of the back story is at least briefly filled in, and what wasn’t filled in left me wanting to read the previous book.

Thomas has recently overtaken the throne of the impenetrable Kingdom of Magnus in ancient England. Power forces of good and evil have taken note of his rise to power. A mysterious group of Druids seem to be doing everything they can with their magic to get Thomas to join them or thwart his reign. In addition the powerful Earl of York has commanded Thomas to bring his army to fight invaders from the north–a battle which in which they will be greatly outnumbered, but that Thomas cannot afford to say no to.

I recommend Fortress of Mist for those looking for a light, but enjoyable story of ancient times filled with mystery and action.

I received a free copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.

