Craig Groeschel is a fellow Covenant Church pastor, but even if he weren’t I would have checked out his newest book, Altar Ego. It maybe helps that I’m at a point in life where I’m trying to get my life more in line with God’s plan for me, but I’d like to think that what he has to say is of importance and interest to all.

And no, the book’s title isn’t a misprint, but a clever pun on how we need to view ourselves. Groeschel encourages readers to place their egos on the altar before God, offering their being to Him that He may do amazing things through them. In doing so we find that we are able to be bold and brave in our faith because our ego isn’t getting in the way.

I enjoyed the personal stories as well as simple, down-to-earth talk about life. I am challenged and encouraged to live less for myself and more for God.

In exchange for an unbiased review, the publisher supplied me with a copy of the book.

