Several years a go my wife got me a statue of St. Francis. Just a little thing–two or three feet tall. I put it in my garden. That’s where Francis belongs–at least when he hangs around my house. I’ve long admired Francis and his life.

Author Ian Morgan Cron writes what he describes as “wisdom literature.” Like Job or Ruth of the Old Testament, it is a story of a journey into faith. He describes it as a balance of “fiction and nonfiction, journey and teaching.” And in this description he is spot-on. He tells the story of the founding pastor of a mega-church who runs into a crisis of faith. With the church elders on the verge of letting him go, Pastor Chase Falson heads to Italy where his uncle introduces him to St. Francis.

As Pastor Falson learns about the historical St. Francis, we learn about his life and teachings and how they are most apt for the life of the church today. Cron makes no compromises for the importance of historical Christianity–especially the radical, true faith of Francis–for the life of the church today. Francis holds much wisdom for the modern world and for those who want to follow Christ.

