I enjoy gardening so I jumped at the chance when I had the opportunity to read Josie Jeffery’s new book, The Mix & Match Guide to Companion Planting: An Easy, Organic Way to Deter Pests, Prevent Disease, Improve Flavor, and Increase Yields in Your Vegetable Garden. I’m not a huge gardener, nor an overly knowledgeable one, but I enjoy doing it. I also like the concept of companion planting where you utilized the effects that two or more plants have on each other to reduce pests and encourage growth. 

What I like about the book is that plants are shown in three columns in a mix-and-match flip book layout. You can choose your main plant and two other plants and see how much beneficial interaction they have. The more dots that line up, the better those plants do together. While I had to keep flipping back to the front of the book to remember what the color-coded dots referred to (one would mean pest control, another would me replenishes soil nutrients, etc.), it was still simple to see the big picture.

Now I just need time to plan and work on the garden!

In exchange for an unbiased review, the publisher provided me with a free copy of this book.

