On a whim I picked out Sketch! The non-artist’s guide to inspiration, technique, and drawing daily life. I normally go for fiction or history or theology, but I thought I’d try something different. I’m glad I did. 

I’ve done sketching and drawing for most of my life, but I’ve never had much in the way of art classes, but there are a lot of things I avoid drawing. France Belleville-Van Stone is inspiring and encouraging in enticing her readers to try drawing everything they see.  I’ve been sketching more since reading the book. Today I even joined a freind from church at a local sketchers meet up. 

While France Belleville-Van Stone is a good artist (though not a trained professional), she doesn’t make someone feel like they shouldn’t try. I was inspired to try and not be afraid to fail. I encourage anyone who has a desire to do more with a pencil/pen and paper to pick up this book.

I received a free copy from this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. 

