I have only gotten into Doctor Who in the past year or so. And only the recent Doctor Who incarnations. Honestly, the old television shows put me off as a child–I was into Sci Fi shows, but they seemed a little cheesy. And maybe I’ll give the old shows a chance sometime.

But this isn’t television, and a good book is a good book. And while The Drosten’s Curse won’t become classic literature, it’s a fun, entertaining story that kept me in it. I believe the story involved the seventh incarnation of the Doctor during the 1970s. Admittedly, being familiar with the Doctor and the T.A.R.D.I.S. helped me get into the story more. I’m not sure if I would have liked it if I wasn’t familiar with Doctor Who. But being a new Doctor Who fan, I enjoyed the story (even if I wasn’t into the older Doctor Who television series). I would recommend the book for Doctor Who fans–even ones like me who are only familiar with the newer series. I think even readers who aren’t familiar with Doctor Who–especially sci-fi readers–would enjoy the story of mysterious events in a British resort town. Golfers disappearing on the course, townsfolk experiencing weird mental phenomena, and an octopus-loving grandmother with creepy twin grandchildren. As is often the case when The Doctor is present, an alien presence is involved–one he hasn’t really encountered before. A.L. Kennedy’s Doctor Who story, The Drosten’s Curse, is a good entertaining read.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbased review.

