image

I’ve had several friends  (all women, including the woman I’m dating) rave about adult coloring books. I’m an amateur artist of sorts. I like to paint and draw, but coloring seemed a little juvenile. Yet when I saw the book Whatever is Lovely and it’s subtitle A Coloring Book for Reflection and Worship I thought I’d give it a try.

I only had watercolor pencils on hand so I used those. The pages contained pictures from a variety of artists (all women) with words from the Bible, hymns, and inspirational bloggers. I found the process of slowly coloring in the lines to be a meditative, prayerful exercise. The words on the page helped guide my thoughts and the action of coloring kept my mind focused and prayerful. The book’s introduction contained helpful advice for the process (as well as the reason for coloring) and the end of the book contains a link for a worship playlist on Spotify for accompanying your coloring with reflective music.

My main critique is that the book feels overly feminine, but focusing on the actions and not the pictures helped so that didn’t matter much. I look forward to spending a few mornings in meditative coloring.

image

