Honestly, I’m not sure if I’ve read a book by an African writer before. It’s been on my radar, but let’s face it, there aren’t a lot of African writers whose books are front and center in the book store or library. So reading Jowhor Ile’s new novel,And After Many Days, was a delightful journey into life in Nigeria during the 1990s. I felt like I gained a better understanding of Nigerian life.

The story centers around the Utu family and the sudden, inexplicable disappearance of their son. The story weaves back and forth through time, jumping into the past as the characters develop and age (the family has three children), and into the future as we eventually discover what happened to their son.

While the chronological jumping may be a little confusing, I enjoyed the story and would recommend it–a good introduction to African literature.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.

 

 

